how we rang in 2010

This was the first year, in many, that I didn’t have to stay at work and run the First Night Akron events in our building. I worked during the day to make sure that everything was set, and then quietly walked out the door to my car at 5:05 pm. Confident that everything was in good hands. It was wonderful.

Greg and I headed over to Michele’s house to spend the evening with friends. There was lots of great food (Kathryn, your brownies…delightful!) games, and even a little Jersey Shore. Paula brought some Chilean New Year traditions to incorporate with the celebration.  They included walking around the block with your luggage (supposed to bring you the journey of your dreams). Eating 12 grapes before midnight (to promote health and prosperity). Placing a ring in your glass of champagne (love in the new year).

New Year’s resolutions for me? I’m not sure that I really have any. I just want to get through my list (3 down, 34 to go). Greg has resolved to no long say, “two thousand and” when refering to the current or future years. He’s now a “twenty-ten” kinda fella. I’m not sure that he could be any cuter.

Here are a few pictures of our slushy New Year’s walk around West Akron. It, of course, ended in a snow ball fight.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on January 2, 2010, in Akron, All About Greg, Food & Drink, Friends, Games, Holidays!. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love the pictures!!!! Such a fun night…and glad you liked the brownies!

  2. How fun! I’d never heard of those rituals….I will now know for twenty-eleven.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

