morning photo project 9.02.2009

halvedlemon

Did my first baking since being on Weight Watchers last night.  I made Ina Garten’s Lemon Cakes for a party at work today and for our condo association board meeting that I’m hosting Thursday night. Gotta love a recipe that makes two cakes. This is one of my favorites. It takes eight lemons to make it. Translation: lots of zesting and juicing. But it’s so worth it. First there’s lemon juice and lots of zest in the cake batter.  Then a lemon simple syrup is absorbed into the cake when it’s right out of the oven.  Once cooled the cakes get a glossy lemon glaze. Lemon, lemon, lemon. PS, the amount of sugar in this cake is kinda obscene.

twojuicedlemons

cakes

glazedcakes

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on September 2, 2009, in Food & Drink, Morning Photo Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yummy!!!! I would be happy to taste test for you

  2. Mike I need that recipie. Looks & soyunds delicious. I know I have a homeowner association potluck coming up when I get back to FL. Thanks

  3. Wow! That looks great and being Ina’s recipe, I am sure they are.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

